

ENGINEERING AND CONSTRUCTION BULLETIN

No. 2019-12 Issuing Office: CECW-EC Issued: 23 Jul 19 Expires: 23 Jul 21

SUBJECT: 2019 USACE Engineering and Construction Awardees

CATEGORY: For Information.

1. **Purpose.** This Engineering and Construction Bulletin (ECB) provides a listing of the awardees for ALL the 2019 Award Programs sponsored by the Engineering and Construction (E&C) Community of Practice (CoP).

2. Our Awardees for 2019 are:

a. Elvin R. "Vald" Heiberg III Engineer of the Year Award:

Laureen A. Borochaner of the Jacksonville District

Website: https:\\apps.usace.army.mil/sites/TEN/Lists/awards/AllItems.aspx.

POC: Kenny Simmons – <u>kenneth.c.simmons@usace.army.mil</u>

b. Construction:

- (1) Hard Hat of the Year: David (Dave) L. Obermeyer Alaska District
- (2) Construction Management Excellence:

Frances (Genie) E. Wachter of the Rock Island District

Website: https://apps.usace.army.mil/sites/TEN/Lists/awards/AllItems.aspx

POC: Kenny Simmons – kenneth.c.simmons@usace.army.mil

c. Cost Engineer of the Year:

Dustin L. Sawyers of the Huntington District

Website: https:\\apps.usace.army.mil/sites/TEN/Lists/awards/AllItems.aspx

POC: Tracy Leeser – tracy.t.leeser@usace.army.mil

d. Dam Safety:

(1) Tommy Schmidt Dam Safety Professional of the Year:

Wade Anderson of the Tulsa District

(2) Dam Safety Team Award of Excellence:

Subject 2019 Engineering and Construction HQUSACE Awardees

Post Hurricane María, Guajataca Dam Response Team – Jacksonville District & Risk Management Center

Website: https://apps.usace.army.mil/sites/TEN/Lists/awards/AllItems.aspx

POC: Jacob Davis – jacob.r.davis@usace.army.mil

- e. Levee Safety:
 - (1) Levee Safety Professional of the Year: Shane K. Cline of the Portland District
 - (2) Levee Safety Team Award of Excellence:

Risk Communication Team of the New Orleans District

Website: https:\\apps.usace.army.mil/sites/TEN/Lists/awards/AllItems.aspx

POC: Jamie McVicker – jamie.l.mcvicker@usace.army.mil

- f. Value Engineering/Value Management
 - (1) USACE Value Engineering Professional of the Year:

Sean F. Dawson of the Baltimore District

(2) Value Engineering Rising Star Award:

Marcelo Maier of the Portland District

Corey D. White of the Louisville District

(3) Value Engineering Achievement Awards Organization Category:

Inland Navigation Design Center (INDC)

(4) Value Engineering Achievement Awards Special Category:

Pittsburgh District (CELRP)

Inland Navigation Design Center (INDC)

Mississippi Valley Division (CEMVD)

Website: https://veawards.erdc.dren.mil/

POC: Jeffery Hooghouse – jeffery.t.hooghouse@usace.army.mil

- g. Architect/Interior Designer of the Year
 - (1) Architect of the Year: Carissa M. Brown of the Kansas City District
 - (2) Interior Designer of the Year: Lauren M. Houpt of the Huntsville Center

ECB No. 2019-12

Subject 2019 Engineering and Construction HQUSACE Awardees

Website: https://profawards.erdc.dren.mil

POC: Scott Wick – <u>scott.c.wick@usace.army.mil</u>

h. Landscape Architect of the Year:

Daniel P. Brock of the Huntington District

Website: https://profawards.erdc.dren.mil

POC: Kevin Holden – kevin.s.holden@usace.army.mil

i. Structural Engineer of the Year Award:

Cameron P. Chasten of the Philadelphia District

Website: https://profawards.erdc.dren.mil

POC: Christopher Westbrook – <u>Christopher.h.westbrook@usace.army.mil</u>

j. CAD/BIM Professional of the Year:

Chris A. Afdahl of the St. Paul District

Website: https://profawards.erdc.dren.mil

POC: Jason Fairchild – jason.c.fairchild@usace.army.mil

k. Geospatial COP Professional of the Year Award:

Michele R. Aurand of the New Orleans District

Website: https:\\apps.usace.army.mil/sites/TEN/Lists/awards/AllItems.aspx

POC: Nancy Blyler – nancy.j.blyler@usace.army.mil

1. The Timothy Skeen Geotechnical Professional of the Year Award:

William A. Rochford of the Chicago District

Website: https:\\apps.usace.armv.mil/sites/TEN/Lists/awards/AllItems.aspx

POC: Marty Goff – marty.goff@usace.army.mil

m. HH&C Professional of the Year Award:

Brantley A. Thames of the Nashville District

Website: https://go.usa.gov/x9hbM

POC: Sean Smith – sean.l.smith@usace.army.mil

- n. Resilience Role Model of the Year, Climate Champion Awards:
 - (1) Resilience Role Model:

ECB No. 2019-12

Subject 2019 Engineering and Construction HQUSACE Awardees

Lake Ontario Coastal Resiliency Team (Joshua Unghire, Andrew Hannes, Bryan Hinterberger, Paul Cocca, Weston Cross & Colleen O'Connell)

(2) Climate Champion Award:

Ariane O. Pinson from the Albuquerque District

(3) Climate Champion - Team Award:

Climate Change and the Federal Columbia River Power System Team (Seungwoo Chang, Keith Duffy, Christopher Frans, Jennifer Gervais, Jeremy Giovando, Evan Heisman)

Website: https:\\apps.usace.army.mil/sites/TEN/Lists/awards/AllItems.aspx

POC: Dr. Kathleen White – <u>kathleen.d.white@usace.army.mil</u>

- 3. **Update.** This guidance does not affect higher level documents and does not require updating existing requirements.
- 4. **Points of Contact.** HQUSACE point of contact for this ECB are listed above for each program.

JAMES B. SAUCEDA, P.E. Chief, Engineering and Construction Directorate of Civil Works